Geoff Manning Memorial
HomeAbout Classic TrialsChampionshipGeoff Manning MemorialGalleryContacts/Links





Right - Geoff and the XK120 at Whenuapai. From left Ross Jensen, Sir Tom Clark, Geoff Manning standing
















Right - Geoff Manning competing in a Classic Trial at Pukekohe in 2004










Barbara Manning holding the Geoff Manning Trophy with the the first two trophy winners.  2010 Winner Wayne Rowlands left and 2009 winner  Russell Goodwin right


Geoff Manning

Geoff Manning owns a special place in hearts of New Zealand motorsport fans and in particular with those who now enjoy the motorsport facilities at Hampton Downs 

It was Geoff's dream that there would be a modern international standard motor racing facility in the Auckland region.  Over a number of years Geoff with his wife Barbara searched for a suitable site around the Auckland area, finally locating the Hampton Downs land that was taken up and developed by his associates Tony Roberts and Chris Watson.  Sadly Geoff passed away in 2005 and did not see the Hampton Downs circuit completed.

The Geoff Manning Memorial celebrates Geoff's life long involvement with motorsport that included years at the pinnacle of the sport.  As a race mechanic Geoff worked for Frank Williams and Graham Hill.  In 1966 he was head mechanic at Le Mans for Fords GT40 programme when Bruce McLaren and Chris Amon were to win the event.  In recent years Geoff was well known as a motorsport competitor racing a Formula Junior Volpini and occasionally an XK120 roadster.

The Geoff Manning Memorial was competed for, for the first time in 2009 at the first classic motorsport meeting held on the new Hampton Downs circuit.  It will continue to be competed for each year at a major classic meeting at the circuit.  The winner of the memorial event will be awarded the Geoff Manning Trophy. A trophy made from the original steering wheel of Geoff's Volpini FJ.  The trophy is presented in his memory by his wife Barbara Manning

The format of the memorial event may change over the years but the event is initially  being run as a classic trial as Geoff had a double link with the event.  Firstly he was President of the the Thoroughbred and Classic Car Owners Club when they brought trialing to New Zealand and secondly as a Classic Trial competitor.   

  Geoff Manning Memorial Trophy Winners
2009 Russsell Goodwin - Classic Trial Club Lotus Monza Meeting - Hampton Downs
2010 Wayne Rowlands - Historic Racing Club Tasman Revival Meeting - Hampton Downs
2011 Tony Ramlose - Historic Racing Club Legends of Speed Meeting - Hampton Downs
2012 Russell Goodwin - Historic Racing Club Legends of Speed Meeting - Hampton Downs
2013 Peter O'Sullivan - Historic Racing Club Legends of Speed Meeting - Hampton Downs
2014 Peter O'Sullivan - Historic Racing Club Legends of Speed Meeting - Hampton Downs